Sunday, December 28, 2008

Comcast still sucks...

But it's the only game in town, so they'll be getting our business anyway. We cancelled comcast about a year ago after many frustrations with the service constantly going down and the bill constantly going up. After having clearwire for a year, we are going to have to go back to comcast. Clearwire is alright, and the performance is ok (once we figured out that the router and the modem interfere with each other, and moved them away from each other, the service was good). Unfortunately its just too slow. Download speeds are in the 150 kbps range. Yuck. Its like the days of dial up, except without the beep-beep-boop-beep sign-on song.

So we decided to go back to Comcast, with very low expectations... And so far we haven't been dissappointed. During the sign up process, we were mislead about the price, and then argued with over the phone. We got through that and scheduled an installation. And we are still waiting. We have rescheduled 3 times....hopefully the fourth times a charm, but somehow I doubt it. The first time the guy came out, he said he didn't have the proper equipment, the second time, it was a snow storm, so they didn't come (I give them that one). The third time, they guy said that he needed a back up guy to get to the pole. He had the equipment, but it is too heavy to carry with one guy. So next week is try #4. Maybe by February we'll be up and running...I hope.



Other than dealing with comcast, we spent the weekend playing with our favorite new toy. I'm still enjoying Fable, and Ethan yelled at NBA Live quite a bit, which I think means he likes it :)


We were spending so much time with our new friend Xbox, Abbey was feeling pretty neglected.



I did take some time to jog on the treadmill...I'm going to need a whole lot more of that to make up for the holiday gorge fest.

Speaking of which, I tried making french baguettes again. They actually turned out really good this time.

I have been a baking machine this holiday! I just finished another batch of Gingerbread cookies for our little holiday party at work tomorrow.


We went to the movies last night and saw "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button". I thought it was a great movie. It's a little weird, so I don't recommend it for everyone, but overall it was a good drama and had an interesting perspective on life and death. There was a lot of death in the movie...so it might be a bit depressing for some.

Tonight it's time to relax in front of the TV, fold the piles of laundry in the bedroom, and mentally prepare to go back to work in the AM. I wish I had more days off! It's always sad when the holidays come to an end...

No comments:

Post a Comment